Mariposa Scholars

Back in the year 2000 Don and Martha Tuffli, property owners in Mariposa, decided that they would like to encourage Mariposa County School High School graduates to pursue their dreams beyond high school by offering a scholarship of $10,000 per year for four years to a boy and girl. Each year a panel of local representatives, a member of the Tuffli Family, and members of the Kids First Foundation, is convened to select a boy and girl to receive the scholarships. The criteria are: high academic standing, passing at least two (college level) advanced placement courses, and at least one hundred hours of community involvement activities.

Since 2002, the Mariposa County Schools Foundation has awarded $600,000 in scholarships.

Past recipients:


David Theiss
University of San Francisco Graduate 2006
Major: Community Development

Allyce Chappell
Loyola Marymount University Graduate 2006
Major: Marketing


Nora (Ashley) Stoffan
University of California Davis Graduate 2007
Major: Pre-Med, Neurobiology Physiology

Craig Tierney
Sonoma State University Graduate 2007
Major: History


Brian Moczygemba
San Diego State University Graduate 2008
Major: English

Amy Gunderson
Point Loma University Graduate 2008
Major: International Studies


Katy Friesen
Wheaton College
Major: Anthropology

Ryan Ballinger
California State University, Stanislaus
Major: Physical Education


Jeffrey Klackovich
University of California at Santa Cruz
Major: Environmental Studies

Tessa Johnson
Bryn Mawr University
Major: Pre-Med & Music


Barbara Schellentrager
Biola University
Major: Communications

Justin Mendonca
University of Idaho
Major: Mechanical Engineering


Jaret Fipps
Oklahoma State University
Major: Animal Science

Natasha Johnson
Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
Major: Elementary Education


Jennifer Ritter
Washington & Lee University
Major: Biology for Pre-Med

Tommy Murdock
Chapman College
Major: Athletic Training


Colin Ritter
University of Portland

Amber Hartgraves
University of Portland
Major: Nursing


Jon King
Pepperdine University
Major: Emergency Room Medicine

Melissa Caputo
Major: International Law